Narrative Essay: My first day at the Adventist University of Chile.

 

It was the moment of truth, when I finally arrived to the University, my body was petrified. I could not even breathe. It was me and a new world. A new group people with different points of view, different religions and of course, a different life style. I do not know how but, the environment was completely different from the one that I used to live. Somehow the air was different because the smell was different from the common. The distance was another important point. I had never had to use a bus to arrive to an educational institution, nor to make a trip of forty five minutes to get to the University. All these points made me realize one thing. I’m in a new world.

Firstly, I had never been in a place like this. A lot of people with a strong belief in God and the laws that he gave us. This is the first difference between us. They have a different point of view about certain situations. A good example of this is that for them marriage is important, but I don’t think so. It’s not essential. If I want to live with someone I don’t need to be married. Religion is another important aspect about this new world. They read the Bible and give thanks for food, something new for me, which is very good and helped me to improve my behavior that I should have according to the laws of God. Another important aspect is the life style that they have here. They don’t eat meat, so they are vegetarians and on Saturdays they worship the Lord. All these aspects show me that it’s a different place.

Secondly, I don’t know how but, the environment was completely different from the one that I used to live. Somehow the air was different because it smells different from the one. Here we find a lot of trees and flowers that give a more rural aspect to University and the days here look longer than the common no matter how the weather is! The environment looks completely different from other places.

Thirdly, the distance was another important point. I had never had to use a bus to arrive to an educational institution, nor to make a trip of forty five minutes to get to my School and my only transportation, it was my feet. My School was near my house so I could go walking and save the money that my parents gave me for transportation. Finally, I understood that I’m in a rural area and I’m not in a urban area as it used to be.

It was a sunny day. It was one of the most important moments in my life. It was the moment of truth. It was me and a new world. It was a new group of people with different points of view, different religion and of course, a different life style. The distance was another important point. I had never had to use a bus to arrive to an educational institution, nor to make a trip of forty five minutes to get to University. All these aspects show me that it’s a new world.

About josejaviercanto

I study English.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

